Sexing By Feeling the Pelvic Bone?
Bookmark and Share
Forum functionality is most compatible with Internet Explorer 5+
BirdChannel Forum
Rules-Read First    Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On
Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )

Home » Bird Breeder Community » Breeding » Sexing By Feeling the Pelvic Bone? Join the Club

12»»

Sexing By Feeling the Pelvic Bone? Expand / Collapse
Author
Fledgling

FledglingFledglingFledglingFledglingFledglingFledglingFledglingFledgling

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 6/6/2011 1:38:47 PM
Hi all,

I know that I am new to keeping birds and not experienced by any means. However, after talking to one individual breeder he began to show me how to sex the bird by feeling the pelvic bone. Any advice on how to sex lovebirds by feeling the pelvic bone or what I should be looking for?

Sam,
Post #235723
Posted 5/3/2011 3:18:07 PM

Fully Fledged

Fully FledgedFully FledgedFully FledgedFully FledgedFully FledgedFully FledgedFully FledgedFully Fledged

Last Login: 9/18/2012 7:02:10 PM
Only a vet should do this. Bird's bones are EXTREMELY fragile and there is a certain way you are supposed to do this. Plus, it is not always accurate. You should just take the bird to the vet if you want to know the sex. It's better safe than sorry!

~
CUSTOM MADE PET ART
http://parrotpicasso.webs.com/

My flock:
Post #235729
Posted 5/3/2011 4:40:29 PM

Good Psittacine

Good PsittacineGood PsittacineGood PsittacineGood PsittacineGood PsittacineGood PsittacineGood PsittacineGood Psittacine

Last Login: 12/12/2013 8:38:20 AM
The theory is that if the pelvic bones are wide apart, then it is a female. They are wider to allow the egg to be laid. It is very hard to tell unless you happen to have a known male to compare her to. The difference is subtle.

We used to try to "guess" for customers at the pet shop. Sometimes we were right, sometimes not. We did it to the Cockatiels, but I don't know if it is the same for Lovies.

LoLei & La Vena
Post #235731